skip navigation

DII, DIII, NAIA Team Preview

By MI Grappler, 11/05/21, 3:45PM EDT


Alma and Davenport officially kicked  off the 2021-22 season off with a dual Wednesday night. Alma took 6 of 10 matches to pick up a 24-17 win. The rest of Michigan's DII, DIII, and NAIA schools are in action this weekend at the Muskegon CC Open, Adrian Invite, and MSU Open.  Previews and lists of all incoming freshmen for each school are below:

Adrian College (DIII)

Adrian had two All-Americans last season, Noah Nieman and Isaiah Espinoza. Nieman, who took 8th at last year’s Division 3 national championships, is now an assistant for the Bulldogs. Espinoza, now a Senior, is returning at 285lbs and looking to build on his 8th place finish at the national championships from last season. Other returning starters from the NWCA Division 3 national championships include Robert Andrews (125lbs), Tanner Smith (133lbs), La’ron Ruffin (141lbs), Ethan Garcia (157lbs), Derick Duvall (165lbs), Zach Altman (174lbs), Michael Jacobs (184lbs), and Donald Moses III (197lbs).

Incoming Freshmen: Mackenzie Baird (Hesperia HS), Jesus Bautista, Ashytn Bennett (Hopkins HS), Jacob Brooks (Pinconning HS), Preston Calvert (South Haven HS), Tyler Davis (Oak Harbor HS (OH)), Lamar Eddins, Noah Engelhardt (Algonac HS), Devin Gibson (Bloomingdale HS), Josh Pasco (Brown City HS), Zach Phifer (Howell HS), Zach Platte (Holt HS), Justin Pronyk (Salem HS), Sampson Ross (Benzie Central HS), Connor Schelb (Midland HS), Derrick Slater (Celina HS), Thomas Tanner (Hart HS), Trey Vanhooren (Jenison HS), Colton Weimer (Garrett HS), Blake Williams (Belleville HS)

Albion College (DIII)

Adam Wilson was named head coach of men’s and women’s wrestling at Albion last October, as the Britons brought back their wrestling program after an almost 40-year hiatus. Wilson named Zach Wood and Brendan Ladd as assistant coaches for the 2021-22 campaign. Albion will begin their season at the Adrian Invite on November 6th.

Incoming Freshmen: Boden Brown (Parma Western HS), Ty Cowen (Westland John Glenn HS), Roy Guy (Jackson Northwest HS), Max Honiss (Howell HS), Zach Johnson (Brighton HS), CJ Krum (St. Johns HS), Owen McDaniel (Plainwell HS), Caden Natale (Hudson HS), Benoit Richards (Jackson HS), Josh Stokes (Dakota HS)

Alma College (DIII)

Todd Hibbs is returning to Alma as the head coach this season. In 2011, Hibbs brought back wrestling at Alma for the first time since 1984, and he led the Fighting Scots to a 6th place finish at the national tournament in 2016. In his first dual back, he helped lead Alma to 24-17 win over Davenport. Winners for Alma include Dominic Megdanoff, Dametrius Castillo, Jayce Kuehnlein, William Vernier, Calvin Huggler, and Owen Atienza. Alma’s next competition will be this weekend at the MSU Open.
Roster not yet available

Cleary University (NAIA)

Head coach Greg Barner is leading the Cougars into their third season as an NAIA program. David Emch (149lbs), Alex Roberts (157lbs), and Jacob Spiess (197lbs) all enter their third year with the program, and Coach Barner will look to them to have breakout seasons. Cleary will begin their season today at the Stenberg Duals in Muskegon.

Incoming Freshmen: Zander Bradsher (Georgia), Kameron Buettner (New Boston Huron HS), Jace Ellis (Oklahoma), Tyler Garone (California), Ethan Green (Howell HS), Hunter Kasey (Arizona), Logan Ladach (Grosse Pointe North HS), Ryan Osterland (Algonac HS), Devin Pfau (Grand Ledge HS), Jordan Piercy (Oregon), Giovanni Pierfelice (Chippewa Valley HS), Omauryon Pruitt (Summit Academy North HS), Keemondre Robinson (Jonesville HS), Kevin Spoelman (Ravenna HS), Amauree Walls (Texas), Ryan Weaver (Ohio)

Cornerstone University (NAIA)

Cornerstone is entering its inaugural season with head coach Chris Williamson. Being the first season, Cornerstone will rely on leadership from Sophomores Noah Anderson (Rockford HS) and Brendan Mahar (Greenville HS), as well as Junior Jacobe Hansen (Colorado). The Eagles will begin their season at the MSU Open on November 6th.

Incoming Freshmen: Matthew Fales (Delton Kellogg HS), Mario Harkonen (Lakeshore HS), Devan Johnson (Pennsylvania), Cooper Mansfield (Indiana), Trevor Marsman (Cedar Springs HS), Thade Radosa (Reeths Puffer HS), Andrew Stevens (Pine River HS)

Davenport (DII)

Bebeto Yewah has been named the new head coach of Davenport for the 2021-22 season.  Manuel Leija (Lansing Eastern HS), Tyson Emmons (Allegan HS), Jordan Ringler (Cedar Springs HS), Jackson Nevadomski (Lake Fenton HS), and River Fox (Schoolcraft HS) are the returning participants from last season’s DII Super Regionals. Davenport dropped their first dual of the year against Alma, 24-17, but saw Manuel Leija, Robert Atland, Crue Cooper, and River Fox pick up wins for the Panthers. Davenport will head to the MSU Open this weekend.

Incoming Freshmen: Ashton Goff (Delaware), Taylor Medeiros (Indiana), Marco Moore (Whitehall HS), Sam Pizzo (Rochester HS), Jack Sherman (Millington HS), Benjamin Smieska (Leslie HS), Matt Whitcomb (Jenison HS)

Olivet College (DIII)

Brandon Brissette begins his 14th season as head coach of Olivet. The Comets had two All Americans last year in Zach Wells and Dominick Wilson. Wilson will be back this year and looking to build on his 4th place finish. Other participants in last year’s national championships to return this year include Cameron Mahlich (125lbs), Reece Wallis (133lbs), Dylan Phelps (141lbs), Hunter Murphy (149lbs), Dylan Briggs (165lbs), and Devlen Kuschel (197lbs). Olivet will begin the season this weekend at the Muskegon CC Open.

Incoming freshmen: Jesse Brumm (Maple Valley HS), Austin Bush (Alpena HS), Robert Davids (Eaton Rapids HS), Stuart Donlan (Indiana), Boe Eckman (Constantine HS), Garrett Englehardt (Churchill HS), Zakary Foster (Allegan HS), Ramiro Guerrero (Adrian HS), Isaac Hall (Constantine HS), Chris Haynes (Eaton Rapids HS), Tyler Herrema (Grandville HS), Emmett Kettel (Richmond HS), Kody Krupp (New Lothrop HS), Dylan Kuschel (Stevenson HS), David Schulte (Indiana), Jay Shaull (Eaton Rapids HS)

Siena Heights University (NAIA)

Head coach Derrik Marry and assistant coach Andrew Morse begin the second season for Siena Heights today in a dual at Lourdes University. The wrestling program was reinstated in the Fall of 2020 after a 30-year hiatus. Siena Heights had three wrestlers compete at the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference championships in their first season, and two of them return to the lineup this year (Garnett Potter and Christian Deluna).

Incoming Freshmen: Matthew Cepak (South Lyon East HS), Jamarion Clayborn (Romulus HS), Jaylen Culver (Romulus HS), Alex Drewek (Detroit Jesuit HS), Randy Frailey (Hanover-Horton HS), Caleb Goodwin (Lakeshore HS), Jacob Gregware (Boyne City HS), Nick Huntsman (Hartland HS), Justin Miller (Brighton HS), Devin Mohr (Hanover-Horton HS), Jacob Orweller (Perry HS), Christopher Sorrow (Hanover-Horton HS), Luke Tuinstra (Hopkins HS)