skip navigation

All Time Dream Team: 125lbs

By MI Grappler Staff, 08/12/16, 9:30PM EDT


4x State Champs Zac Hall & Lincoln Olson headline 125lb weight class

1st Team - Zac Hall, St. Johns (2013)

Hall (left) was OW at the 2012 Grappler Fall Classic and a 3x GFC Champ

This was Zac Hall's junior year where he won his 3rd state title.  Hall was just as good his senior year at 140 when he was named MI Grappler Wrestler of The Year, however, he was a clear pick to be the best guy at 125 as he had some amazing national accolades throughout 2012-13 season.

The summer prior to his junior year he was Junior Freestyle Runner-Up in Fargo at 120lbs, with his lone loss coming to future NCAA Champ Nathan Tomasello of Ohio.  Hall knocked off big names and future NCAA All-Americans Dylan Peters and Bryce Meredith on his amazing run to the finals that summer in Fargo.  He followed that up winning the GFC with a memorable 9-8 shootout win over Kenny Bade of DCC in the finals and placed 5th in Fargo the summer after in Junior Freestyle 132lbs.

Watch Hall's memorable 3 period battle with Nathan Tomasello in the 2012 Fargo Finals, the summer before his 2012-13 Dream Team year.



Much like Hall, Olson's 125 season was his junior year and his 3rd of 4 state titles.  Olson was consistently good throughout his career nationally, but 2013-14 may have been the best overall product with a GFC title and All-American finishes at the FloNationals and Junior Freestyle Nationals.

Zac Stevens, Monroe (2008)

Stevens won the D1 state title and was 4th at the NHSCA Senior Nationals in 2008 back when the Senior Nationals was really the only show in town.  Prior to the rise of events like the FloNationals and USAW Folkstyle Nationals, the NHSCA Nationals were close to Fargo in terms of the toughest national tournament.

All Dream Team 125lber

2016 - Drew Marten (Tecumseh), Jr.
2015 - Ben Freeman (Walled Lk Cent), So.
2014 - Lincoln Olson (Davison), Jr.
2013 - Zac Hall (St. Johns), Jr.
2012 - Jacob Schmitt (St. Johns), Jr.
2011 - Joey White (Dundee), Sr.
2010 - Ben Matthieson (Holt), Sr.
2009 - Cameron Amateis (L.Creuse), Sr.
2008 - Zac Stevens (Monroe), Sr.
2007 - Andrew Novak (NB Huron), Sr.