skip navigation

Dean Dominates on Way to Title in Vegas; Big Red Takes 5th

By BV, 12/03/16, 8:30PM EST


Army WP, Binghamton Represented on the Podium

Photo by BV

Cornell's Gabe Dean was completely dominant, picking up four consecutive first period pins on the way to the finals before recording a technical fall over Virginia Tech's Zack Zavatsky in the title bout to capture the 184-pound championship at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational.  Dean was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler.

Dean was joined by three teammates on the podium. 174 pounder Brian Realbuto notched second place after dropping a one-point contest to Arizona State's Zahid Valencia in the finals. Realbuto won his first four bouts.

Meanwhile, Mark Grey nabbed third at 133 pounds after a 5-1 performance that included a pair of pins and a 2-0 decision over Minnesota's Mitch McKee in the bronze bout.  Brandon Womack picked up sixth at 165 in his first appearance at this event, racking up two pins and two majors along the way.

The Big Red placed fifth as a team, with Ohio State, Wisconsin, Virginia Tech and Minnesota finishing in the top four spots.

Those weren't the only placers from New York schools. Binghamton's Steven Schneider grabbed fourth at 184 after putting together a 7-2 showing. 

Army West Point put two wrestlers on the medal stand.  Logan Everett was fifth at 141, finishing off strong with a pin in his placement match over Timmy Box of Northern Colorado.  Samson Imonode ended the day in eighth place at 184. 

For full results, see below.


125 LBS

1st Joey Dance (Virginia Tech) DEC Jose Rodriguez (Ohio State), 4-3

3rd Sean Russell (Edinboro) DEC Trey Andrews (Northern Colorado), 7-1

5th Noah Gonser (Eastern Michigan) DEC Sean Nickell (CSU Bakersfield), 5-0

7th Ben Thornton (Purdue) FOR Markus Simmons (Iowa State)

133 LBS

1st Nathan Tomasello (Ohio State) DEC Stevan Micic (Michigan), 3-2

3rd Mark Grey (Cornell) DEC Mitch Mckee (Minnesota), 2-0

5th Corey Keener (Central Michigan) F Anthony Tutolo (Kent State), 4:12

7th Ali Naser (Arizona State) DEC Eli Stickley (Wisconsin), 10-4

141 LBS

1st Joey Mckenna (Stanford) DEC Bryce Meredith (Wyoming), 3-1

3rd Cole Martin (Wisconsin) DEC Russell Rohlfing (CSU Bakersfield), 8-7

5th Logan Everett (Army) F Timmy Box (Northern Colorado), 2:03

7th Kyle Ayersman (Purdue) M FOR Jack Mutchnik (American)

149 LBS

1st Micah Jordan (Ohio State) DEC Pat Lugo (Edinboro), 7-3

3rd Justin Oliver (Central Michigan) DEC Cole Mendenhall (Wyoming), 6-0

5th Joey Delgado (Oregon State) M FOR Solomon Chishko (Virginia Tech)

7th Andrew Crone (Wisconsin) MD Chase Straw (Iowa State), 11-3

157 LBS

1st Jake Short (Minnesota) DEC Colin Heffernan (Central Michigan), 3-2

3rd Archie Colgan (Wyoming) DEC Victor Lopez (Bucknell), 2-1 SV

5th Josh Shields (Arizona State) M FOR Sal Mastriani (Virginia Tech)

7th Colt Shorts (Cal Poly) DEC Alex Mossing (Air Force), 4-1

165 LBS

1st Logan Massa (Michigan) DEC Isaac Jordan (Wisconsin), 8-7

3rd Branson Ashworth (Wyoming) DEC Austin Matthews (Edinboro), 7-2

5th Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) F Brandon Womack (Cornell), 0:40

7th Alex Lopouchanski (Air Force) DEF Cody Burcher (Ohio State)

174 LBS

1st Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) DEC Brian Realbuto (Cornell), 3-2

3rd Myles Amine (Michigan) DEC Lelund Weatherspoon (Iowa State), 4-2 SV

5th Christian Brucki (Central Michigan) FOR Jim Wilson (Stanford)

7th Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley) M FOR Nick Wanzek (Minnesota)

184 LBS

1st Gabe Dean (Cornell) TF Zack Zavatsky (Virginia Tech), 19-4 5:00

3rd Myles Martin (Ohio State) TF Steven Schneider (Binghamton), 22-7 6:04

5th Jordan Ellingwood (Central Michigan) DEC Hunter Ritter (Wisconsin), 4-1

7th Nick Fiegener (California Baptist) MD Samson Imonode (Army), 12-1

197 LBS

1st Brett Pfarr (Minnesota) DEC Jared Haught (Virginia Tech), 14-1

3rd Kollin Moore (Ohio State) DEC Jacob Smith (West Virginia), 9-7

5th Corey Griego (Oregon State) F Ricky Robertson (Wisconsin), 1:03

7th Tom Sleigh (Bucknell) DEC Tanner Orndoff (Utah Valley), 2-0

285 LBS

1st Connor Medbery (Wisconsin) vs. Ty Walz (Virginia Tech)

3rd Michael Kroells (Minnesota) vs. Tanner Hall (Arizona State)

5th Nathan Butler (Stanford) DEC Billy Miller (Edinboro), 5-0

7th Gage Hutchison (Eastern Michigan) M FOR Quean Smith (Iowa State)



133: Mark Grey, 3rd

165: Brandon Womack, 6th

174: Brian Realbuto, 2nd

184: Gabe Dean, Champion 


Army West Point:

133: Logan Everett, 5th

184: Samson Imonode, 8th



184: Steven Schneider, 4th