skip navigation

Wayne County Championships Preview

By MiGrappler Staff , 12/15/16, 6:30AM EST


Saturday, December 17th 2016

We are just days away from one of the biggest individual tournaments in the state of Michigan. With over 40 schools invited, the Wayne County Championships (at Wyandotte High School on December 17th) is a great early season test for some of the state's top wrestlers. Last season, Wayne County teams contributed to 99 regional qualifiers, 52 state qualifiers, 23 state placers, 7 state finalist, and 2 state champions across three different divisions. This weekend will be no different as there will be 2 returning state champions (Michael Mars, 112lbs & Nathan Atienza, 145lbs) 20 returning state qualifiers and multiple returning regional qualifiers who will be looking to punch their ticket to the state tournament later this season.

This seasons Wayne County championship will be lead by defending champions and the current #7 ranked team in division 1, Westland John Glenn. Glenn finished last season with a 27-5 dual record and was just one point away from making the team state championships in a closely contested regional final with Bedford High School. This season, coach Polk will be looking to repeat as Wayne County champions with the help of #1 Michael Mars, #3 John Siemasz, #3 Kyle Borthwell, #3 Jawaun Peete, #6 Anthony Gibson, and #7 Issac Lefler. Other returning starters for Glenn are: Caleb Meekins (regional qualifier), Dylan Weis, Brandon McCollum, Cole Bagwell, Genaro Acerrano, Chase Kersten, Derrick Lester, Brenten Polk, George Schwemle, Dylan Weiss, and Brandon Careathers.

Teams looking to keep pace with Westland John Glenn this weekend are Dearborn Heights Annapolis and Southgate Anderson. These two teams tied for second place a year ago and are returning some state title contenders. Annapolis finished last season with a 38-4 dual meet record, winning their district and region before being knocked out in the first round by St. Johns in the division 2 state championships. Coach McGuire will look to return state runner-up and current top ranked Dustin Gross (152) to help lead his team to the top of Wayne Counties this season. They will also be returning regional qualifiers Marcus Mertz and Anmar Al Abolidi.

Southgate will be returning a few state title contenders of their own as they look to get back atop the Wayne County championships. They are lead by Senior 125lb Donte Rivera-Garcia, who won the tournament last season before finishing 2nd at the state tournament in March. Southgate will also be returning, #3 Hunter Grasso, #4 Logan Palshan, and #10 Brad Janes.


Other teams to watch:

Salem – Placed 5th in 2015, District and Division Champs

Returning: Nate Gaubatz, DaQuan Baker, Akash Rai, Tyler Knop, Bruce Haslitt (Regional Qualifier), Cullen Stroschiem, and Jake Giorgi

Edsel Ford - Placed 7th in 2015, 23-13 dual record last season

Returning: #5 Will Marano, Abdullah Nassar, Ragih Murshed, Cam Wyka (Regional Qualifier), Darius Wilson, Michael Bates Jr., Rutha Muaalla, and Ralphy Espinal

Livonia Franklin -  Placed 9th in 2015, District Champs

Returning: #1 Nathan Atienza, Johnny DiPonio, Marino DiPonio, Evan Jaynes, Mannee Willie, Howie Whitaker

Ranked Wrestlers in Wayne County:
D1 #6 Mojahid Ahmed, Fordson
D2 #4 Jordan Austin, New Boston Huron

D1 #3 Kyle Borthwell, Westland John Glenn

D1 #1 Michael Mars, Westland John Glenn
D1 #4 Logan Palshan, Southgate Anderson
D1 #7 Isaac Lefler, Westland John Glenn
D2 #2 Branson Proudlock, Gibraltar Carlson

D1 #2 Donte Rivera-Garcia, Southgate Anderson
D2 #5 Mustafa Al-Aubeidy, Melvindale

D1 #6 Tyler Thompson, Grosse Pointe South

D1 #3 Xavier Graham, Brownstown Woodhaven
D1 #6 Anthony Gibson
D1 #10 Brad Janes

D1 #3 John Siemasz, Westland John Glenn

D1 #3 Joey Muzzin, Brownstown Woodhaven
D2 #2 Jackson Rickman, Trenton

D1 #2 Nathan Atienza, Livonia Franklin
D1 #5 Will Marano, Dearborn Edsel Ford
D2 #1 Dustin Gross, Dearborn Hts Annapolis
D2 #5 Stahj McCoy, Hamtramck

D1 #3 Hunter Grasso, Brownstown Woodhaven

D2 #1 Connor Charping, Trenton
D2 #6 Drake Pauwels, New Boston Huron

D1 #3 Jawaun Petee, Westland John Glenn
D1 #8 Jordan Hottom, Lincoln Park