skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Jayhawks Compete Against the Big Dogs

By MI Grappler, 11/20/17, 3:45AM EST


The Jayhawk wresting team traveled Findlay, Ohio to compete in the Findlay Open on Saturday, Nov. 18th.  The Jayhawks were only one of two 2-year schools in attendance.  With a handful of Division I and II schools in the tournament the Jayhawk were going to have a challenging tournament. “We come to this tournament to wrestle the toughest competition we can.” Said Head Coach James Tietema. “This is our toughest tournament in the first semester and we come here to take our lumps.” The Jayhawks didn’t have any wrestler place.

Sophomore Baker Hadwan (Dearborn, MI/Churchhill HS) had the best record going 2-2 on the day beating Max Boyd of Ashland University 5-2 and Chris Droege Lake Erie 2-1. “I was hoping we could get a guy or two to place, but this is a tough tournament for freshman and sophomores to place at.” Mentioned Coach Tietema. “Overall as a team we looked better with our shot set-ups and finishes. Which is what we have been working on in practice the last few weeks, so that’s a good sign.”

The Jayhawks don’t compete next week, they are off for Thanksgiving. The Jayhawks will be back on the road Dec. 1st and 2nd traveling to Niagara Falls, New York to compete in two duals on Friday, Dec. 1st and then the Thunderwolves Open on Saturday, Dec. 2nd.

Div. I Schools: Cleveland State, Kent State, Michigan State, Ohio State, and Ohio.

Div. II Schools: Ashland, Findlay, Gannon, Indianapolis, Lake Erie College, Notre Dame (Ohio), Tiffin, West Liberty State, Wheeling Jesuit.

Div. III: Mount Union and Ohio Northern

NJCAA Schools: Mercyhurst North East, Muskegon

Findlay Open Results for Muskegon Community College:

133 - Corey Robinson - DNP
Corey Robinson (MCC) over Dakota McCloskey (Mount Union) (Dec 9-6)
Lawrance Dudgeon (Ashland) over Corey Robinson (MCC) (Fall 4:02)
Casey Vollmer (Gannon) over Corey Robinson (MCC) (Maj 10-1)

141 - Zeke Breuninger - DNP
Hunter Bray (Notre Dame (Ohio)) over Zeke Breuninger (MCC) (Dec 8-2)
Tyler Warner (Wheeling Jesuit) over Zeke Breuninger (MCC) (Dec 7-0)

149 - Dren Bratrum - DNP
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Kollin Clark (Wheeling Jesuit) (Fall 6:00)
Moises Guillen (Ohio University) over Dren Bratrum (MCC) (Inj. 6:02)
Trent Roesly (Muskegon CC) over Dren Bratrum (MCC) (MFF)

157 - Jojo Dowell - DNP
Nick Boggs (Lake Erie) over Jojo Dowell (MCC) (Fall 3:31)
Connor Craig (Wheeling Jesuit) over Jojo Dowell (MCC) (Dec 5-0)

165 - Blake Ross - DNP
Jared Sample (Gannon) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Dec 7-6)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Jacob Ramsey (West Liberty) (Dec 9-4)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Dec 7-2)

165 - Sage Gonzales - DNP
J.D. Waters (Indianapolis) over Sage Gonzalez (MCC) (Fall 4:03)
Sage Gonzalez (MCC) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Dec 7-2)
Cody Dingess (Ohio State) over Sage Gonzalez (MCC) (Fall 5:42)

174 - Riley Tercha - DNP
Jacob Thompson (Ohio Northern) over Riley Tercha (MCC) (Fall 3:37)
Joel Leise (Gannon) over Riley Tercha (MCC) (Fall 1:37)

174 - Ronnell McGhee - DNP
Brendon Winning (Lake Erie) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Dec 3-2)
Ronnell McGhee (MCC) over Brad Nagy (Gannon) (FF)
Austin Robbins (Indianapolis) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (SV-1 4-2)

197 - Baker Hadwan - DNP
Brian Wagner (Indianapolis) over Baker Hadwan (MCC) (Fall 1:22)
Baker Hadwan (MCC) over Max Boyd (Ashland) (Dec 5-2)
Baker Hadwan (MCC) over Chris Droege (Lake Erie) (Dec 2-1)
Kian Thompson (Tiffin) over Baker Hadwan (MCC) (Dec 9-7)

285 - Ramon Correa - DNP
Ramon Correa (MCC) over Tom LaRosa (Unaffiliated) (Dec 5-1)
Deaken McCoy (Ashland) over Ramon Correa (MCC) (Fall 1:29)
Nick Budd (Gannon) over Ramon Correa (MCC) (FF)

285 - Brock Johnson - DNP
David Henson (Tiffin) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Fall 1:11)
Seth Bloor (Wheeling Jesuit) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Dec 8-2)