skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Sophomore Gomez Dominates at Harper Open

By MI Grappler, 02/02/18, 1:00AM EST


The Jayhawks traveled to River Grove, Ill. on Saturday, Jan. 27th to compete at the Harper Open. Six of the Ten Jayhawks placed in the top eight. “This year’s tournament was much tougher than in years past.” Said Head Coach James Tietema. ”There were many more entries and most were from 4-year schools. That didn’t slow down Benny.” Sophomore Benny Gomez (Holt, MI/Holt HS) was the Jayhawks only champion and only Jayhawk in the finals. “Benny continues to wrestle great. He’s intensity in practice and on the mat gets better every week. He’s very focused on being the best he can every time he steps out on the mat.” Added Coach Tietema. Benny’s closest match came in the semi’s, a 10-3 decision against Bryce West of Northern Illinois University.   

The Jayhawks placed five other wrestlers. Sophomore Zeke Breuninger (Dexter, MI/Dexter HS) and sophomore Baker Hadwan (Dearborn, MI/Livonia Churchhill HS) both finished 6th. Both Breuninger and Hadwan were 3-2 on the day. Breuninger picked up an important district win by fall over Vinny Piunti (Joliet Junior College) and Hadwan sis the same with a fall over Daniel Burnley (Lincoln College).

The remain three Jayhawks that place this weekend were: freshman Blake Ross (Muskegon, MI/Reeths-Puffer HS), freshman Ronnell McGhee (Ferndale, MI/Ferndale HS), and freshman Brock Johnson (Muskegon, MI/Muskegon Catholic Central). All three Jayhawks finished 8th. The Jayhawks next competition will be at the NJCAA North Central District again at Triton College. This tournament will qualify the Jayhawks to the NJCAA National Championships in Council Bluffs, Iowa at the end of February.  

Harper Open Results for Muskegon Community College:

125 - Benny Gomez - 1st
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Shuji Mizoguchi (North Central) (TF 21-5)
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Bryce West (Unattached) (Dec 10-3)
Benny Gomez (MCC) over Justin Mitchell (North Central) (Maj 12-4)

133 - Corey Robinson – DNP
Corey Robinson (MCC) over Caleb McElfresh (Hannibal Lagrange) (Maj 20-11)
Jordan Carsen (Harper College) over Corey Robinson (MCC) (Dec 16-9)
Aris Morgan (Unattached) over Corey Robinson (MCC) (Fall 6:31)

141 - Zeke Breuninger - 6th
Chaise Hauck (Chicago) over Zeke Breuninger (MCC) (Dec 5-2)
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over Dan Kapraun (Mott CC) (Fall 1:22)
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over James Cushman (Milwaukee School of Engineering) (Fall 0:36)
Zeke Breuninger (MCC) over Vinny Piunti (Joliet Junior College) (Fall 1:00)
Javin Bandy (Elmhurst) over Zeke Breuninger (MCC) (Dec 7-5)

149 - Dren Bratrum – DNP
Wilder Wichman (University of Wisconsin Whitewater) over Dren Bratrum (MCC) (Maj 24-10)
Dren Bratrum (MCC) over Kacper Prskroz (Unattached) (TF 20-5)
Ben Williamson (North Central) over Dren Bratrum (MCC) (Inj. 0:00)

157 - Jojo Dowell – DNP
Will Britain (Chicago) over Jojo Dowell (MCC) (Dec 14-12)
Jojo Dowell (MCC) over Josh Cooper (Ancilla College) (TF 17-2)
Jordan Davis (Harper College) over Jojo Dowell (MCC) (Fall 5:15)

165 - Blake Ross – 8th
Blake Ross (MCC) over Victor Keane (Elmhurst) (Fall 2:59)
Eli Were (University of Wisconsin Whitewater) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Fall 1:08)
Blake Ross (MCC) over Paul Ladd (Lakeland College) (SV-1 5-3)
Elijah Hollins (Rochester CC) over Blake Ross (MCC) (Dec 8-4)
Blake Ross (MCC) and Jerrod Mullins (Mott CC) (DFF)

165 - Sage Gonzalez – DNP
Talon Seitz (Unattached) over Sage Gonzalez (MCC) (Dec 10-4)
Jerrod Mullins (Mott CC) over Sage Gonzalez (MCC) (Fall 3:50)

174 - Ronnell McGhee - 8th
Placide Niyigena (Harper College) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Dec. 10-3)
Ronnell McGhee (MCC) over Charlie Lanam (Ancilla College) (Maj 14-6)
Ronnell McGhee (MCC) over Randy Kline (North Central) (Inj. 0:00)
Asher Eichert (Triton College) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (Fall 4:34)
Ryker Vander Woude (Rochester CC) over Ronnell McGhee (MCC) (DFF)

197 - Baker Hadwan - 6th
Baker Hadwan (MCC) over Daniel Burnley (Lincoln College) (Fall 6:33)
Riley Kauzlaric (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater) over Baker Hadwan (MCC) (Dec 5-4)
Baker Hadwan (MCC) over Drew McCollum (Hannibal Lagrange) (Fall 6:04)
Baker Hadwan (MCC) over Brogan Howard (University of Wisconsin-Whitewater) (Dec 5-2)
Gabriel Rangel (Lincoln College) over Baker Hadwan (MCC) (TB-1 2-1)

285 - Brock Johnson - 8th
Brock Johnson (MCC) over Jordan Williams (Harper College) (Fall 5:00)
Sean Brinkman (Joliet JC) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Dec 3-2)
Brock Johnson (MCC) over Dominic Johnson (Mott CC) (Dec 3-0
Jordan Williams (Harper College) over Brock Johnson (MCC) (Inj. 0:00)
Tanner Welsh (Rochester CC)  over Brock Johnson (MCC) (DFF)