skip navigation
Grappler Gold

25 former GFC hammers looking to #GETSOME at NCAAs this weekend

By MI Grappler, 03/15/18, 9:30AM EDT


3x GFC Champ Mark Hall looks to become 2x NCAA Champ

The 9th Annual Grappler Fall Classic is set for October 13th, 2018 in Michigan

As the Grappler Fall Classic has continued to evolve over the last 8 years a premiere pre-season National Tournament, we continue to see familiar faces of former GFC stars having success at the college level.

This year's NCAA tournament will be filled with former GFC competitors, including some of our greatest champions.

The most notable GFC alum in attendance is Mark Hall of Penn State, one of only two wrestlers to ever win 3 GFC titles at the high school level.  Hall is a returning NCAA Champ looking to defend his title at 174lbs.

Other returning NCAA All-Americans to watch this weekend who made the GFC their stomping ground in high school include: Alec Pantaleo (Michigan), Justin Oliver (Central Michigan), Logan Massa (Michigan), and Jacob Kasper (Duke)

In all, 25 former GFC athletes are in action this weekend, representing 16 different college programs.  #GETSOME

Here is the full list of competitors with GFC ties, followed by their notable GFC performances.

Rayvon Foley (Michigan State) - 2x Champ, 2015 & 2016
Louie Hayes (Virginia) - 2013 Champ
Gage Curry (American) - 2015 Runner Up
Travis Piotrowski (Illinois) - 2015 4th Place

Jason Renteria (Nebraska) - 2011 MS Division 3rd Place
Zach Sherman (North Carolina) - 2012 DNP
Cam Sykora (North Dakota State) - 2011 Champ

#10 Mason Smith (Central Michigan) 2012 Runner Up
#15 Nate Limmex (Purdue) 2014 Champ
#16 Cole Weaver (Indiana) - 2010 Runner Up
Sa'Derian Perry (Eastern Michigan) - 2014 3rd Place

#6 Justin Oliver (Central Michigan) 2013 3rd/2012 Runner Up
Malik Amine (Michigan) - 2013 Runner Up
Steve Bleise (Minnesota) - 2010 Runner Up

#5 Alec Pantaleo (Michigan) - 2011 4th

#5 Alex Marinelli (Iowa) - 2013 3rd
#7 Logan Massa (Michigan) - 2x Champ, 2013 & 2012
Zac Carson (Eastern Michigan) - 2014 Champ

#2 Mark Hall (Penn State) - 3x Champ, 2013, 2012, 2011
#5 Myles Amine (Michigan) - 2013 5th

Kordell Norfleet (Arizona State) - 2016 Champ
Kayne MacCallum (Eastern Michigan) - 2013 4th

Jordan Atienza (Central Michigan) - 2013 DNP

#4 Jacob Kasper (Duke) - 2012 4th/2011 3rd
Gage Hutchison (Eastern Michigan) 2x Champ 2012 & 2011