skip navigation

Best Dual Team Rd 1: '06 Davison vs '01 Lapeer West

By MI Grappler, 08/02/18, 9:30AM EDT


Weight '06 Davison '01 Lapeer West
103 Bryan Rickard, 5th 112 Steve Lampar, SQ
112 Zach Davis James Ranger, 3rd
119 Ryan McKenna David Schlaud, 7th
125 Zak Burns, 1st 130 Jason Fellows, 1st
130 Kyle Kidder, 2nd 135 Jesse Reader, 3rd
135 Keenan Duffie, 2nd 140 Josh Cross
140 Cory Gettings, SQ Alex Marcola
145 Aaron Walton James Kish, 1st
152 Jon Reader, 1st 160 Brett Sierakowski
160 Korey West Nick Sierakowski, 3rd
171 Kyle Chittick Ryan Zemmer
189 Richard Kirksey, 2nd Roger Kish, 1st
215 Jared Cowan, SQ Chris Houle, SQ
285 Ron Cotter Josh Johnson, SQ


The year of the weight cut where virtually the entire team dropped down for an improbable team state run.  Led by future NCAA champ Jon Reader, who had 54 consecutive falls to end his prep career, this team had firepower at its best.  Burns, Kidder, and Duffie were all finalists.  Chittick won a state title in 2005 but was out for the individual postseason in 06.  Kirksey was a phenom; he took 2nd at 189 as a freshman, and it would be his only year in Michigan. 

Lapeer West

Lapeer West was a dominant force in the late 90s/early 2000s.  The 2001 championship team was likely their best squad though.  James and a sophomore Roger Kish led the way for the now-defunct Panthers.  James won his second title in 2001, as did Roger.  The lightweights were also high quality, with six state qualifiers in the first five weights - four of whom placed.  Most notably of those was Jason Fellows, who'd go on to place 4th at Seniors in 2002.

Round 1 Schedule

August 1: 2013 St. Johns vs 1989 Temperance Bedford
August 2: 2006 Davison vs 2001 Lapeer West
August 3: 2010 Detroit CC vs 1999 Williamston
August 4: 2009 Rockford vs 1993 Grandville
August 5: 2005 Davison vs 1990 Lake Orion
August 6: 2014 Lowell vs 2003 Davison
August 7: 2004 Davison vs 2016 Lowell
August 8: 2017 Detroit CC vs 1997 Eaton Rapids
August 9: 2012 St. Johns vs 2008 Holt
August 10: 1995 Flint Northern vs 1992 Temperance Bedford
August 11: 2018 Dundee vs 1991 Clarkston
August 12: 2002 Davison vs 1988 Detroit CC
August 13: 2007 Rockford vs 1998 Montrose
August 14: 2000 Davison vs 2011 St. Johns
August 15: 1996 Dundee vs 2015 Lowell
August 16: 2018 Detroit CC vs 1994 Warren Lincoln
*Winners in BOLD