skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Best Dual Team Rd 1: '09 Rockford vs '93 Grandville

By MI Grappler, 08/04/18, 9:30AM EDT


Weight '09 Rockford '93 Grandville
103 Tyler VanRooyen Jared Homrich
112 Alex Padilla Dave Palazzolo
119 Kyle Waldo, 1st Mark Peterson
125 Jake Byers, 2nd Mike Glane, 1st
130 Austin Scogg Jeremy DeLeon
135 Robbie Gorton Ryan Vanderveen, 8th
140 Zach Johnson, 3rd Paul Grifhorst
145 Bruce Carlstrom Dave Engvall, 4th
152 CJ Sholl, SQ Dan Herrema, 5th
160 Jake Johnson, 2nd Kevin Brink, 5th
171 Jake Dorulla, 1st Tom Graverson, 2nd
189 Zach Banaszak Rob Stellini
285 Jesse Somsel, 2nd/Joe Stefanski, 1st 215 Chris Gray


The second state championship team for the Rockford Rams came in 2009 with a one-point win over Holt in the finals.  Kyle Waldo lead the way winning his fourth state title; Jake Dorulla and Joe Stefanski also added championships.  Byers, Johnson, and Somsel were finalists as well, rounding out a year with six individual state finalists.  The lineup also included Zach Johnson, who placed for the fourth time in 2009, and Austin Scogg- a 2011 state champ.


Combatting the OK Red rival Rams, Grandville's 1993 team boasted six all-state wrestlers.  Most notably was state champion Mike Glane, who would go on to wrestle at Ohio State.  From 135-171, the Bulldogs put five wrestlers onto the podium in their respective weights.  Tom Graverson was 2nd, Dave Engvall was 4th, and Herrema and Brink were 5th.   Graverson was a state champ the year prior at 160.

Round 1 Matchups

August 1: 2013 St. Johns vs 1989 Temperance Bedford
August 2: 2006 Davison vs 2001 Lapeer West
August 3: 2010 Detroit CC vs 1999 Williamston
August 4: 2009 Rockford vs 1993 Grandville
August 5: 2005 Davison vs 1990 Lake Orion
August 6: 2014 Lowell vs 2003 Davison
August 7: 2004 Davison vs 2016 Lowell
August 8: 2017 Detroit CC vs 1997 Eaton Rapids
August 9: 2012 St. Johns vs 2008 Holt
August 10: 1995 Flint Northern vs 1992 Temperance Bedford
August 11: 2018 Dundee vs 1991 Clarkston
August 12: 2002 Davison vs 1988 Detroit CC
August 13: 2007 Rockford vs 1998 Montrose
August 14: 2000 Davison vs 2011 St. Johns
August 15: 1996 Dundee vs 2015 Lowell
August 16: 2018 Detroit CC vs 1994 Warren Lincoln
*Winners in BOLD