skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Best Dual Team: '14 Lowell vs '03 Davison

By MI Grappler, 08/06/18, 9:00AM EDT


Weight '14 Lowell '03 Davison
103 Lucas Hall, 1st/Sam Russell, SQ Eric Warner
112 Kyle Washburn Jon Reader, 3rd
119 Zeth Dean, 5th Paul Donahoe, 2nd
125 Derek Krajewski, 4th Jason Whitman, SQ
130 Bailey Jack, 3rd Cory Rogers, 4th
135 Jordan Hall, 3rd Tony Ward, SQ
140 Danny Kruse Brent Metcalf, 1st
145 Eli Boulton Kyle Chittick, 6th
152 Nate Stephens Nate Bundy, SQ
160 Kanon Dean, 5th Trevor Perry
171 Max Dean, 1st Zach Denkins
189 Garrett Stehley, 2nd Jesse Reader, 3rd
215 Josh Colegrove, 1st Adam Wilmoth, 1st
285 Logan Wilcox Derek Skinner


The current run of five straight titles for Lowell started with this team in 2014.  In the finals they dethroned St. Johns, and prevented a five-peat, with a 34-34 win on criteria.  The Arrows put nine onto the podium and crowned three champs in Lucas Hall, Max Dean, and Josh Colegrove.  They also had good balance throughout the lineup as nine wrestlers would go on to wrestle at the Division 1 level.

Team State Road
Lowell def. Warren Lincoln, 58-16
Lowell def. Niles, 43-16
Lowell def. St. Johns, 34-34


One of two years where the Cardinal NCAA champs (Donahoe, Reader, Metcalf) were all on the same team.  With the obvious firepower down low, Davison also had some really good guys up top.  Adam Wilmoth was a state champ and Senior National AA, Jesse Reader was 3rd at 189.  Chittick and Perry were young but emerging as top talents in the state.  Just a really tough team from top to bottom.

Team State Road
Davison def. Chippewa Valley, 36-28
Davison def. Grand Ledge, 46-19
Davison def. Grandville, 56-15

Round 1 Matchups

August 1: 2013 St. Johns vs 1989 Temperance Bedford
August 2: 2006 Davison vs 2001 Lapeer West
August 3: 2010 Detroit CC vs 1999 Williamston
August 4: 2009 Rockford vs 1993 Grandville
August 5: 2005 Davison vs 1990 Lake Orion
August 6: 2014 Lowell vs 2003 Davison
August 7: 2004 Davison vs 2016 Lowell
August 8: 2017 Detroit CC vs 1997 Eaton Rapids
August 9: 2012 St. Johns vs 2008 Holt
August 10: 1995 Flint Northern vs 1992 Temperance Bedford
August 11: 2018 Dundee vs 1991 Clarkston
August 12: 2002 Davison vs 1988 Detroit CC
August 13: 2007 Rockford vs 1998 Montrose
August 14: 2000 Davison vs 2011 St. Johns
August 15: 1996 Dundee vs 2015 Lowell
August 16: 2018 Detroit CC vs 1994 Warren Lincoln
*Winners in BOLD