skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Best Dual Team Rd 1: '17 Detroit CC vs '97 Eaton Rapids

By MI Grappler, 08/08/18, 10:15AM EDT


Weight '17 DCC '97 Eaton Rapids
103 Devon Johnsen, 7th Jesse Chapman
112 Ben Kamali, 1st/Rhett Newton, 3rd Jeff Fowler
119 Derek Gilcher, 4th Steve Cowles
125 Stone Moscovic, SQ Mike Boyd
130 Kevon Davenport, 1st Josh Wright
135 Chad Grant
140 Joe Urso, SQ DJ Waters, 1st
145 Cameron Amine, 1st Russell Thorn
152 Aidan Wagh, SQ Andy Crow, 8th
160 Rory Cox Jason Smith
171 Tyler Morland, 1st/Easton Turner, SQ Kevin Stattazahn, 3rd/Matt Sturgell
189 Conner Curnutte/Dane Flynn, SQ
215 Jackson Ross, 3rd Andy Sutton
285 Nick Jenkins, 1st Matt Wood

Detroit CC

CC got back on top in '17 after a two year drought.  The Shamrocks had five state champs in Kamali, Davenport, Amine, Morland, and Jenkins.  In the team finals they knocked off a very tough Davison team by 13.  When it's all said and done, likely at least 8 D1 wrestlers will come from this team.  

Team State Road
DCC def. Brighton, 55-3
DCC def. Hartland, 54-10
DCC def. Davison, 35-22

Eaton Rapids

Eaton Rapids' team in 1997 was one of many strong Greyhound teams in the 90s.  DJ Waters led the way with a state title; two others would become all state individually as well.  But they did have a ton of talent ready to breakout as four other wrestlers (Chapman, Wright, Grant, Sutton) would place in the 1998 state tourney.  With a 31-1 record on the year, ER took down Mt. Pleasant in the team finals.

Team State Road
Eaton Rapids def. Hartland, 39-18
Eaton Rapids def. Caledonia, 49-15
Eaton Rapids def. Mt. Pleasant, 27-23

Round 1 Matchups

August 1: 2013 St. Johns vs 1989 Temperance Bedford
August 2: 2006 Davison vs 2001 Lapeer West
August 3: 2010 Detroit CC vs 1999 Williamston
August 4: 2009 Rockford vs 1993 Grandville
August 5: 2005 Davison vs 1990 Lake Orion
August 6: 2014 Lowell vs 2003 Davison
August 7: 2004 Davison vs 2016 Lowell
August 8: 2017 Detroit CC vs 1997 Eaton Rapids
August 9: 2012 St. Johns vs 2008 Holt
August 10: 1995 Flint Northern vs 1992 Temperance Bedford
August 11: 2018 Dundee vs 1991 Clarkston
August 12: 2002 Davison vs 1988 Detroit CC
August 13: 2007 Rockford vs 1998 Montrose
August 14: 2000 Davison vs 2011 St. Johns
August 15: 1996 Dundee vs 2015 Lowell
August 16: 2018 Detroit CC vs 1994 Warren Lincoln
*Winners in BOLD