skip navigation
Grappler Gold

Best Dual Team Rd 1: '12 St. Johns vs '08 Holt

By MI Grappler, 08/09/18, 11:15AM EDT


Weight '12 St. Johns '08 Holt
103 Drew Wixson Ben Matthiesen, 4th
112 Zac Hall, 1st Corey Leonard
119 Logan Massa, 2nd Kyle Hanton
125 Jacob Schmitt, 1st Dustin Miller
130 Brant Schafer, 1st/Rory Bender, 4th Grant Ankney, 4th
135 Cameron Bender, SQ Chaz King
140 Ben Whitford, 1st Koort Leyrer, SQ
145 Josh Pennell, 3rd Zac Seyka
152 Travis Curley, 2nd Zack Shaw, 3rd
160 Jordan Wohlfert, 1st Josh Shaw, SQ
171 Taylor Massa, 1st Mike Andring
189 Payne Hayden, 2nd Corbin Boone, SQ
215 Conrado Dominguez, SQ Mitch Zajac, 2nd
285 Blake Cooper Curtis Ferguson, 5th

St. Johns

Definitely a frontrunner to win the whole bracket here.  St. Johns' 2012 squad had six individual champs.  But more impressively was the success on a national level.  Ten wrestlers were Fargo All-Americans.  TEN.  The Red Wings were a top-five team nationally and had a slew of nationally ranked individuals, namely Whitford and Massa who were tops in the country.

Team State Road
St. Johns def. Mason, 61-11
St. Johns def. Tecumseh, 59-6
St. Johns def. Lowell, 41-18


A throwback of sorts with the 2008 Holt Rams, one of the last truly "homegrown" teams to win a state title.  Holt went 29-0 on the year, knocking Hartland, Davison, and Bedford en route to a championship.  Individually they had five all-staters, all of whom placed in the top-five.  Mitch Zajac was the lone finalist at 215, losing only to Marcel Dubose.  A balanced lineup with quality wrestlers, but definitely would have its hands full in this Capital Area matchup.

Team State Road
Holt def. Hartland, 34-19
Holt def. Davison, 34-22
Holt def. Temperance Bedford, 41-17

Round 1 Matchups

August 1: 2013 St. Johns vs 1989 Temperance Bedford
August 2: 2006 Davison vs 2001 Lapeer West
August 3: 2010 Detroit CC vs 1999 Williamston
August 4: 2009 Rockford vs 1993 Grandville
August 5: 2005 Davison vs 1990 Lake Orion
August 6: 2014 Lowell vs 2003 Davison
August 7: 2004 Davison vs 2016 Lowell
August 8: 2017 Detroit CC vs 1997 Eaton Rapids
August 9: 2012 St. Johns vs 2008 Holt
August 10: 1995 Flint Northern vs 1992 Temperance Bedford
August 11: 2018 Dundee vs 1991 Clarkston
August 12: 2002 Davison vs 1988 Detroit CC
August 13: 2007 Rockford vs 1998 Montrose
August 14: 2000 Davison vs 2011 St. Johns
August 15: 1996 Dundee vs 2015 Lowell
August 16: 2018 Detroit CC vs 1994 Warren Lincoln
*Winners in BOLD